Skip to content

U.S. Senate

How it Works, Who's Your Rep, and Who's Running in 2024

Representatives of Michigan in the Upper Chamber of U.S. Congress

A Brief Overview of the U.S. Senate


A Few Facts

  • Primary Election is August 6, 2024
  • 2 senators per state, 100 total
  • One-third of the body is elected every two years
  • 6-year terms
  • $174,000 + benefits
  • Meets in the U.S. Capitol building in Washington DC

What they Do

  • Make laws
    • Anyone can write laws, only members of congress can introduce it to Congress
    • Bill goes from subcommittee to committee for consideration, then reported to Senate floor
    • Majority party leadership decides when to place the bill on the calendar
  • Declare war
  • Raise and provide public money and oversee its proper expenditure
  • Impeach and try federal officers
  • Approve presidential appointments
  • Approve treaties negotiated by the executive branch
  • Oversight and investigations

Back to Top

Senators Make Laws

Current Michigan U.S. Senators

Debbie Stabenow (D)

4 Terms: 2001 - present

107th-118th Congress

*Not Seeking a 5th Term. Open seat for 2024 election.
Debbie Stabenow (D)

Debbie's Path to the Senate

  • 1975-1978 Ingham County Commissioner
  • 1979-1990 Michigan State House of Representatives - 58th House District
  • 1991-1994 Michigan State Senate
  • 1997-2001 U.S. House of Representatives - Michigan's 8th District
  • 2001-2024 U.S Senate - Term ends, not seeking a 5th term
  • Visit

Peters (D)

2 Terms: 2014 - present

111th-118th Congress

* Up for re-election in 2026
Gary Peters (D)

Gary's Path to the Senate

  • 1995-2002 Michigan State Senate - Michigan's 14th District
  • 2003-2008 Commissioner of the Michigan Lottery
  • 2009-2013 U.S. House of Representatives - Michigan's 9th District
  • 2013-2015 U.S. House of Representatives - Michigan's 14th District
  • 2015-present U.S; Senate, seat was vacated by Carl Levitin (D)
  • Visit

Who's Running in 2024

U.S. Senator Primary Election: August 6, 2024

General Election: November 5, 2024

**One seat open for 2024 Debbie Stabenow is not seeking a 5th term**

Date Last Checked: 2024-03-24


She/Her Candidates

  • Incumbent Debbie Stabenow (D) - Not seeking 5th term
  • Elissa Slotkin (D)

He/Him Candidates


She/Her Candidates

He/Him Candidates


  • 30 years old
  • Citizen for 9 years
  • Live in the representative state

Ballot Access

  • Raise/spend > $5000 on campaign
  • Fill out Statement of Candidacy (FEC Form 2)
  • Fill out Statement of Organization (FEC Form 1)